PO Box 5965, Columbia, SC 29250


©2019 by Young Democrats of South Carolina. Proudly created with Wix.com


The Young Democrats of South Carolina in its current form was re-established in 2011 by Ophelia Doe and Mike Glymph, but previous versions of YDSC or the South Carolina Young Democrats have been recognized by YDA and SCDP since at least the 1940s. 

YDSC alumni include:

  • the late state Sen. Isadore Lourie

  • U.S. House Majority Whip Jim Clyburn

  • former YDA President William Bilton

  • state Sen. Brad Hutto

  • attorney Elanor Duffy Cleary

YDSC's current Constitution was approved in September 2015 and last amended after the 2016 state convention.



The Young Democrats of America, founded February 15, 1932, is the oldest and largest partisan youth organization in the country. Neighboring North Carolina lays claim to being the oldest continuing state chapter.

YDA's current President is Louis Elrod of metro Atlanta and Danielle Glover of Colorado as Executive Vice President. Kristina Contreas Fox, Daniel Sims, and Kainoa Kaumeheiwa-Rego serve as vice presidents. Quentin Wathum-Ocama (Secretary), Justin Myers (Treasurer), Morgan Jamison (DNC member), and Briana Cartwright (DNC member) also serve as board members.

Learn more about YDA at www.yda.org!



YDSC is the youth voter auxiliary of the South Carolina Democratic Party. The State Party is governed by an Executive Committee elected by the county parties and an Executive Council elected by the Committee members from each Congressional district. 

SCDP is chaired by Trav Robertson of Anderson, with Lessie Price, Anthony Thompson, and Scott Thorpe as vice chairs.

The Hon. Gilda Cobb-Hunter, Clay Middleton, Carol and Don Fowler, and DNC Associate Chair Jaime Harrison serve as DNC members.